Entrepreneurship and Start-up Policies play a vital role in the economic and social development of a nation. In fast developing economics like India, these polices are critical and very important for innovators, entrepreneurs and startups in overcoming barriers while trying to market their innovation and growth of startups from scratch to scale. Higher Educational institutes in general and technical institutes in particular, play an imperative role in shaping the startup movement for a country like India where the large section of young talents are in their academics. Ministry of Education and apex regulatory bodies such as University Grant Commission (UGC) and All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE) together have designed a more inclusive version with detailed guidelines on the ‘National Innovation and Start-up Policy 2019 for students and faculty’ for implementation and adoption in both technical and non-technical HEIs across the country. Hon’ble minister of Human Resource Development has launched the ‘National Innovation and Start-up Policy 2019 for students and faculty’ on 11th September 2019 at AICTE, New Delhi. The Policy will be implemented by MoE’s Innovation Cell and in coordination AICTE, UGC, state governments & UTs and universities, policy will be taken to ground for quick adoption by HEIs. This journey began on 16th November 2016, when AICTE launched the first version of policy in the hands of the then Hon’ble President of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee aiming at 10,000 AICTE approved technical institutions spread in almost 600+ districts of the country and approximately 80 lakh technical students and 7 lakh faculty members in accordance with Government of India’s “Start-up India” Action plan launched on 16th January 2016. The present policy is a way forward to the earlier version of AICTE’s Start-up Policy being implemented by the AICTE Start-up Policy Implementation Committee. The present policy highlights various important and practical aspects of promoting and supporting innovation, technology commercialisation and startup in academic setup. It delineates pre-incubation and incubation support system in campus, incentives for faculty and students involved in innovation and startup, and suggests mechanisms in the areas of IP ownership, revenue sharing, equity sharing between institutes and incubated start-ups.

Policy Objectives:

The National Innovation and Start-up Policy 2019 intends to guide HEIs to promote student driven innovations & start-ups and to engage the students and faculty in innovation and start up activities in campus. The policy aims at enabling HEIs to build, streamline and strengthen the innovation and entrepreneurial ecosystem in campus and will be instrumental in leveraging the potential of science, student’s creative problem solving and entrepreneurial mind-set, and promoting a strong intra and inter-institutional partnerships with ecosystem enablers and different stakeholders at regional, national and international level. The entrepreneurial ecosystem in HEIs will play key role in identifying, mentoring, nurturing innovative and entrepreneurial potential of students, faculty and staff and transforming them into start-up entrepreneurs by provided avenues of funding, investment opportunities and networking support to make the innovation and venture successful.


Firstname Lastname Designation/ Organisation NISP Committee Role
1 Dr. A. Peer Mohamed Vice Chancellor (i/c) –BSARCIST Chairman
2 Dr. A. Azad Registrar –BSARCIST Vice Chairman
3 Dr. N. Raja Hussain Deputy Registrar – BSARCIST Member
4 Mr. VNA. Jalal Sr. General Manager – BSARCIST Member
5 Dr. R. Raja Prabhu Director – Accreditation & Ranking – BSARCIST Member
6 Dr. M.S. Haji Sheik Mohammed Dean – Academic Affairs – BSARCIST Member
7 Dr. I. Raja Mohamed Dean – Research – BSARCIST Member
8 Dr. Nikat M Hamza Director –HR – BSARCIST Member
9 Dr. U. Sabura Banu IQAC Coordinator – BSARCIST Member
10 Mr. E .M. Shah Abdul Khader Finance Officer- BSARCIST Member
11 Mr. Mohammed Mohideen Alumni Startup– Co Founder, Wegot Member
12 Mr. Dev Anand Alumni Startup– Co Founder, Kankyo Member
13 Mr. M. Adithya Student Startup– Co Founder, Tradent Member
14 Mr. Ragul Raghunath Student Startup– Co Founder, Geeky Tech Member
15 Dr. Shafaat Ahmed Salahudeen Faculty Startup– Co Founder, Suzaris Member
16 Dr. T. Harinarayana Faculty Startup– Co Founder, Apps & Design Member
17 Ms. Akhila Rajeshwar Startup Ecosystem – Executive Director, TIE Chennai Member
18 Mr. Balram Nair Startup Ecosystem – Vice President, Chennai Angels Member
19 Dr. B. Suresh Industry – MD &CEO, Mahindra Consulting Engineers Ltd Member
20 Dr. Shriram Raghavan Industry – Vice President –Jananom Pvt Ltd Member
21 Mr. C. N. Prem Kumar Incubation Manager – CIIC Member
22 Dr. Nisha Mukund Technical Manager – CIIC Member
23 Mr. M. Parvez Alam CEO& Director – CIIC Convenor

BSARCIST Internal Faculty Coordinator

S.No Faculty Coordinator Faculty Position Departments/ Schools
1 Mr. Sri Nithya Mahottamananda Assistant Professor Aerospace
2 Mr. Aravinda Pandian Assistant Professor Automobile
3 Dr. Asokk Assistant Professor Management
4 Dr. A.Paramasivam Assistant Professor EEE
5 Dr. Manshath Assistant Professor Mathematics
6 Mr. S. Sadhish Prabhu Assistant Professor ECE
7 Dr. R. Amiruddin Assistant Professor Physics
8 Mr. Y Ibrahim Assistant Professor Civil Engg
9 Dr. M.S.Murshitha Shajahan Assistant Professor EIE
10 Dr. Shakila Anjum Assistant Professor Computer Application
11 Mr. N. Rajendran Assistant Professor IT
12 Dr. Rafik Rajjak Shaikh Assistant Professoro Chemistry
13 Dr. I. Faridha Begum Scientific Assistant School of life Sciences
14 Dr. M. Pervaz Ahamed Assistant Professor Mechanical
15 Mr. D.Murali Manohar Assistant Professor Polymer
16 Dr. A. Ramachandran Assistant Professor CSE
17 Dr. Indumathi Assistant Professor Commerce
18 Mrs. B. Lavanya Assistant Professor Pharmacy
19 Dr. Nazneen M Y Assistant Professor Law
20 Dr. S. Vijayakumar Assistant Professor English
21 Dr. Khalid Waheed Assistant Professor SAIS (Islamic Studies)